car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In this modern epoch, people prefer to use their personal vehicles instead of public transport. Ownership of cars has become rampant in the past decade to an extent that many big cities nowadays are facing traffic stoppage issues. Besides the road blockage problem in large towns, I believe that increasing the number of vehicles is a major cause of multiple global challenges that will be discussed in this essay. It also shed light on strategies that can be adopted to avoid these hazards. On one hand, using personal motor vehicles is convenient for people as they don’t have to be dependent on anyone and wait for busses or trains. Moreover, public transportation can’t drop an individual at his desired location. For instance, if a person in Lahore wants to visit his friend’s home in Gulberg, he has to take the bus to the nearest stop is 2KM away. On the other hand, the increasing number of vehicles has led to some global issues such as traffic jams, air pollution and road accidents. In Karachi, for example, thousands of people are affected by Smog every year which occurs when carbon emissions from vehicles are mixed with fog during winter. In my view, Government can take action to encourage people to use public transport rather than their personal vehicles. One way is to increase the fuel taxes and prices of automobiles to discourage people from using them. Authorities can use the amount collected from these taxes to provide free public transport. To conclude, using a personal vehicle can reduce transportation time and money for people, on the contrary, it can lead to higher transport stoppage, toxic gases in the climate and accidents. Therefore, in my opinion, the government must take strict action to reduce the number of cars in big cities.