In some countries, secondary school aims to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is better?

In different countries, secondary schools provide different subjects for their students. I think that secondary school provides a general education across a range of subjects is better. If a student studies a range of subjects at secondary schools, they could find their own direction in which they are really interested. It can achieve their potential, the students can spend more time in areas of interest. The more time they spend, the more likely they are to become experts. Meanwhile, studying courses in different directions can help students acquire different skills, such as for computer-related courses, the students can get computer skills, and for English-related courses, the students can obtain foreign language skills and communication skills. The different skills will help them when they graduate from society. On the other hand, it has some advantages if the students only focus on some particular career. First, when they graduate from school, they may have more job opportunities. Because they are more proficient in a certain area, and current employers like recruiting people related to the field. Therefore, they can have a competitive edge in the job market. Second, it could make students feel relaxed and happy in the learning process. The student only needs to study some special courses and do related homework to increase the memory of knowledge points. The students feel more relaxed and happy with less homework and they can have time to play computer games or do other entertainments to relax. In my view, although studying a range of subjects could encourage students ’ imagination and creativity, learning about some particular career can also increase the rate of employment and job opportunities.