Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The use of smartphones or electronic devices by children has increased significantly over the past decade. Some of them spend a significant amount of time on their mobile phones. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this situation and state why I believe this could bring out a negative development in children. Firstly, with the development of technology, books were replaced by e-books and youtube has become the new classroom for many students. Smartphones could be highly beneficial as web browsers such as google contain enough and more information. Furthermore, schools, as well as tuition classes have moved to online education after the pandemic which made it a requirement for almost every student to own an electronic device to continue their education. On the other hand, they use smart devices as a mode of entertainment. For instance, social media serve as a common way for new friendships. Hence they spend long hours chatting with their friends. Therefore, do smartphones have a positive or a negative impact on children? Multiple studies have proven that too much screen time could be detrimental to children. For example, according to research conducted by the ministry of education, in Sri Lanka, 62% of children from age 10-16 have screen time over 5 hours a day and 42% out of them have a deteriorating vision. Moreover, constant distractions caused by mobile phones have a direct effect on children's concentration power. In conclusion, children using mobile phones for long hours could be a negative development. Therefore, encouraging them to use iPads or tablets for their studies and monitoring screen time would be more beneficial.