At present, the media affect people's life significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Digital media plays a significant role in the daily life of society today. The main influence is that it gives such alarming standards on public eyes to compare themselves to what is displayed online, and the negative evolution has brought deteriorated mental health among individuals. In recent years, most young people actively promote their existence on social media, including celebrities and influencers. By doing this, they are indirectly promoting unrealistic beauty standards in the modern community. As a consequence, numerous teenagers who follow videos and photos of their favourite models online, start to normalize the so-called 'beauty standard' and do the comparison with their bodies and images. On top of that, adolescents, especially young ladies, are obsessed with certain body sizes and pretty faces. This affects their confidence in their natural appearance, which leads to unhealthy self-labelling. For instance, South Koreans, as early as fourteen years old, are permitted to undergo plastic surgery by their parents, although it is pretty expensive, and there is no guarantee that it can be successful. In terms of development, I believe this to be a negative one as overconsumption can cause mental health issues in the long run. Although some content on the internet can be seen as useful, some of them can lead young generations, especially ladies, to only care about their look instead of their personality. Besides, self-comparison with digital photos and videos can then result in depression when it is overthought. On top of that, when it comes to the cyber community, one can share hate comments towards others that lead to cyberbullying. For this reason, some teenagers can even attempt suicide. For instance, South Koreans, as early as fourteen years old, are permitted to undergo plastic surgery by their parents, although it is pretty expensive, and there is no guarantee that it can be successful. In conclusion, online media has drastically changed people's attitudes towards themselves and others in their life. The comparison among teenagers in the digital world is one of the major impacts, especially when an individual's psychological health is at stake.