Some people say that television is useful in education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool.

Some individuals claim that television is an useful tool for education while others think that it is more for fun. In my opinion, watching tv has far more educational aspects than entertainment facilities. To begin with, after the invention of the television, our lives become more convenient to stay updated for global news and enjoy ourselves by watching series or shows. Additionally, today, many people through tv relax and have a good time. For example, Olympic tournaments or football championships are easy to follow on tv which also come people together at home and help to reduce stress. Furthermore, some citizens who face loneliness can not socialise. However, they can catch a glimpse at some tv shows such as cooking or travel which makes them more satisfied with their daily life. By contrast, via television, it is likely to gain new information on animals, history or even language. To make it clear, tv plays an important role to improve ourselves rather than just entertainment. For instance, I improved my language skills by watching foreign tv channels such as BBC and Skynews. In addition, through documentaries, science or cooking channels, it is easy to boost our knowledge about animals, human history or world cuisine. To cite an example, I learned on a tv show how to cook Italian pasta and salad using useful technics and ingredients. To conclude, although the tv is seen as more entertaining than its educational aspects it has a large variety of advantages to learn new skills and enhance our knowledge.