In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development

In present days, with the development of technological and social aspects, advertising has become a controversial topic in society. Businesses nowadays, use various techniques to emphasise that their products are new. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and their positive and negative impacts. The business world, is highly competitive because a significant number of rivals come into the game every day. As a result, advertising products with highlighted attributes has become a trend in order to gain a competitive advantage. However, it is more likely to have the same features and usage as before. For an instance, many electronic appliance companies use this strategy to obtain a higher market. They change the appearance of a rice cooker and tag it with a higher price, as a result, more customers tend to buy that product. Every coin has two sides, as for the given statement. The positive aspect of the mentioned approach belongs to businesses, because they are able to have higher sales. Furthermore, it is a strategy to compete with other competitors of the business and shine among them. ie; Coca-Cola is the most suitable example. In a way, they are the leading soft drink company in the world that has the best methods of advertising. Almost all the time, they come up with new concepts to reach the customer base and achieve their sales by introducing tiny changes in their product. On the other hand, emphasising products makes negative development in the customer base. Consumers, may get confused about what product to buy. For example, take android and apple mobile phones. Every year they release smartphones to the market mentioning that they have the latest features and technologies in their product, while apple prices their phone more than androids. But the truth is both types of mobile devices are able to carry out the same amount of functionality and features. To conclude, in some aspects, businesses use techniques to highlight their products as new to others. As a result society and business owners are subject to both positive and negative results. In my opinion, advertising these products should happen in a way that benefitting for both parties equally.