Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In current life, majority of kids tend to devote most time of the day on their smartphones. This phenomenon might be occurred due to some reasons which I assume that they mostly lead to some detrimental consequences. To be precise, it has more drawbacks rather than benefits. To begin with, technological advancements and sophisticated gadgets considered to be interconnected with humanity which have some negative influence on children. To illustrate, kids have an inclination to overuse their cell phones due to not having enough parental supervision. As long as parents are the role models of their children, they should not prioritize work and career of theirs over the behaviour of children. For example, they themselves are glued to their phones and even spend their time off on scrolling through the internet instead of encouraging children to get involved into some sports activities or spend some time out so as to refresh their mind. Consequently, children have an excessive use of smartphones that follows by getting addicted to them. The main results of this phenomenon could be observed in two negative ways. One of which is that, children who are prone to use their phones excessively, are highly likely to encounter failure in their academic achievement as well as they can come across difficulties to uphold friendship with their classmates. Meaning that, social media and several apps offered by phones easily capture attention of children, as a result, they expose themselves to watching videos contain a violence or inappropriate content to their age. Being addicted to them, they are less impossible to neglect their study along with falling behind with syllabus of their school. Aside from this, not getting on well with classmates leads to losing bonds with them which is the result of indifferent teachers who allow pupils to have an access to phones, even during lessons. Another disadvantage of the given matter is related to health problems that can be obtained by overconsumption such devices like cell phones or laptops. That is to say, it can negatively effect on mental ability or memory of those children. If, for instance, they are let to possess phones from their early ages, they may become grumpy and aggressive, that seems as if normal temper to themselves, as they grow up. Considering all discussed reasons, the elderly, mostly parents and teachers, should make use of controlling children in what way they are using their phones as well as putting some restrictions such as taking their phones after 8 p.m or checking the websites they mostly pay a visit. To conclude, I would claim that most factors leading to detrimental results are due to unconsciousness of children and indifference of parents. However, it can be tackled, if people responsible for children take a serious consideration of their future and shaping behaviour.