As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people are worried thinking that globalisation will destroy cultural identity. Personally, I believe that globalisation may help to preserve cultural identity thanks to technology and may divulge this identity in order to be shared and keep it safe. For these reasons, I completely disagree with the statement given. Firstly, it is well known that globalisation could have some drawbacks, however, it could help to preserve cultural dances, languages or recipes thanks to the internet. In addition, using all tools that globalisation has, cultural identity can be saved for centuries, helping communities with their traditions. For example, if the population records their dances, copies their books, and saves their knowledge in the online cloud, it will be safe and will not be either damaged or lost. For this reason, globalisation may help in this task and has a lot of resources to make it easier. Secondly, the aforementioned tools can be used to divulge the cultural identity of each region. For instance, the Spanish population can learn about the cultural identity of Japan or India, using tools such as Tik Tok or apps to meet new people around the world. Thanks to globalisation, people are able to share their traditions and their culture in order to become more popular and unforgettable. To conclude, although globalisation has some disadvantages, I support that it can help to preserve cultural identity and at the same time that it should be used as a loudspeaker to divulge it. For these reasons I completely disagree with the statement given.