Young people who commit crime should be punished the same way as adults who commit crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world crime has increased steadily with an increase in population. It is often argued that people under 18 who go against the law should be penalized in the same way an adult would be.In my opinion, they should not be punished in the same way. Adults are mature enough to make decisions in their life still make mistakes so what difference we can expect from young people. When you are young you tend to listen to your friends or perform a crime under peer pressure so this turn's out to be not an intentional crime instead was done under pressure. For example, a friend stole a belt from a mall and the other friend did the same thing under pressure. In this,case a child should be given proper education of keeping away from his friends would be a punishment. On the other hand, an adult caught chain-snatching a lady would be imprisoned for a few years however, as the kid will be under 18 would be given a warning or the police may teach him a lesson by beating him. Sometimes people suffer a lot of trauma in the early stage due to which they turn out to be a criminal so making them learn a new skill in jail would help them get a job outside where they get to know life outside crime outside exists with hard work. To conclude, I oppose this view as young have to the same punishment as adults when they carry out the severe violation. Although offsprings perpetrate crimes, it is not the correct measure to mitigate this issue as they are not enough mature to control their thoughts. Hence, they can suffer from psychological problem if would send to jail.