Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there's a general debate over the issue of young adolescents being influenced by peer groups. Some people believe that peer pressure has more strength than drawbacks, while others say that it has more demerits than merits. Both sides have reasonable points but in my opinion, this say will agree with the formal statement. On the one hand, one of the reasons why peer pressure among youth is bad is because of the bad influence among themselves especially at school. That is to say, if students at campus join a group of smokers in the name of having fun, this not only mislead them of doing their responsibilities but also wastes their time. For example, according toresearch conducted by Mr. William at Bugema University showed that 40% of the learner who have peers tend to fail exams because of bad influence and pressure from their peer hence lacking time to read. On the other hand, despite the above points, there are many advantages that outweigh the negatives of peer pressure such as adolescents having fun with their age mates. In other words, when age mates meet during their free time, they are able to enjoy themselves such as partying or watching a movie together which helps them not to be bored alone. For instance, majority of the young people at school always find a team where they can fit during school period. In addition, the tension in the team they choose helps them to perform better during academic studies. Children normally have competition of reading to see which team wins in performance and sometimes they are given rewards by their head teachers which always motivate them to work harder. To illustrate more, Most of the schools in Uganda use group competition in order to help learners achieve high. In conclusion, therefore l agree that the benefits of peer force overshadow the drawbacks because of better performance of students and enjoyment. So l hope in future, teenagers will be allowed to join more groups.