Nowadays the rate of drug abuse among the youth is on the increase. What are the reasons for this and how can we solve this problem?

There is an increasing proportion of young adolescents taking drugs in this day and age. The main reasons behind this phenomenon are the fact that parents do not spend enough time with their children and schools place their emphasis on teaching, and the solution for this is that they need to set strict periods of their time on a daily basis to catch up with them. Drug abuse has been wide-spreading recently among teenagers. Chief of these is that their parents are so caught up in their work and sometimes forgo their offspring. In other words, fathers and mothers nowadays have to work industriously in order to feed their families; however, this inadvertently leads to a consequence that their children do not know how to conduct themselves appropriately as they constantly lack guidance from their parents. For example, in some developing countries like Vietnam, where parents have to work continuously in order to support their children, and drug usage problem has been proven to be significantly higher compared to other developed countries. Another reason that contributes directly to this problem is because of the school system. Many educational institutions are inclined to focus entirely on educating students about theoretical knowledge instead of morals regarding such negative behaviours as using drugs. In order to tackle the so-called problem in terms of young people being addicted to drugs, families should designate strict periods that are for their children only. This is to say that parents need to decide upon a time each day that cannot be interrupted by work and is solely focused on their children. By doing this, the child could get the attention that they deserve, and on top of that parents are also able to observe and intervene if their children have any drugs related symptoms. In conclusion, drug abuse among the young generation could be detrimental and leave various consequences. The main factors responsible for this problem is time constraint from their parents and the focus on their knowledge over their behaviour, to put an end to this, parents need to be the one who set aside time for their children and also keep an eye on them.