A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at institution or organisation as part of their program. what are the advantages and disadvantages of the type of course requirement? give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

It has become a common practice in many universities or colleges to ask enrolled persons for an internship program before their final exams. Even though internships consume too much time of person but it is still considered good in terms of gaining practical experience. Today I am going to discuss the pros and cons of working during my studies. On one hand, doing an unpaid job takes precious time and energy of an enrolled person which ultimately results in a lack of focus on studies. Hence in the absence of full attention, a good understanding of the thesis and scores can not be achieved. I remember one of my classmates was doing the job in order to finance her studies and couldn't have maintained a work-life balance so she became the lowest GPA scorer in the class. On the other hand, I can not deny the fact that getting employment anywhere gives you a professional experience. In,return the experience enhances your skills and gives you a better understanding of the work ethics and the organizational culture. Last year, one of my friends who was pursuing his graduation from IBA University, informed me that the IBA has made it mandatory for all graduates to submit any voluntary work certificate in order to receive the graduation degree otherwise the management will not issue any transcript or other document. To summarize, many institutions have set the condition of gaining practical exposure with the issuance of the transcript or the certificate. During the academic,period a job may create a distraction by leaving you with limited hours to prepare for your exams. However, exposure to the industry may help you with the application of your thesis in a practical environment.