In most countries, prison is the most common solution when people commit a crime. However, if they were to receive better education, it could prevent them from becoming criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is a rise in the number of crimes committed by individuals all around the world. Although some argue that prison is the most effective way in dealing with the criminals, I believe that providing better education is the best way to avoid crimes. This essay will discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs. There are several reasons why providing education would be a solution to tackle crimes. To begin, literacy allows young people to be aware of different laws. They are well-informed about the damage that committing a crime would cause to their community and to themselves. Moreover, by acquiring a certain qualification and having a profession, individuals might stay away from illegal activities which are dangerous to their society. A recent study, for example, showed that 75% of criminals had either never received a proper education or grew up without attending schools. In addition, sending criminals to prison would only increase the crime rates. In prison, inmates are usually surrounded by people of negative behavior and influence. As a result, they are not able to learn any useful skills and later face huge problems when searching for a new job to earn money. For example, nearly 90% of all prisoners are unemployed when they exit the cell. Therefore, the government should offer criminals with training courses when they are released which would help them lead a stable life. In conclusion, I strongly believe that providing education can address the issues of crime and could alleviate its causes. By making the education system more accessible, inmates could find a profession easily and have far less possibility of coming back to prison.