In many cities around the world, traffic is a serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

We are all concerned about the traffic problem of cities which makes it harder hectic life for residents who live in metropoles. The origins of this situation seem to stem from three factors, while several remedies appear to be open to us. Perhaps the major factor here is uncontrolled migration from rural areas to big cities. This leads to an increase in the population of urban places, thus heavier traffic. The United Kingdom’s capital, for instance, receives numerous migrants from the countryside, resulting in problematic traffic. Another root can be the lack of public transport facilities which would force the society to get their own vehicles for being able to travel. A third cause is the majority of households have more than one car although the family members can share one. Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be improving rural areas in terms of education facilities, social services, and job opportunities. This results in enhancing the locals to inhabit the area where they have grown instead of moving to urban centers. A second remedy might be making investments in mass transit and building new metro and tram lines which can be done by governments or mayors. As an example, the Amsterdam government built the state-of-the-art subway system almost a decade ago as a method to deal with traffic jams. This policy of the authority created a city with light traffic and a community that prefers public transport to their personal car. In conclusion, the factors of movement to town and the inefficiency of public transit appear to be fundamental causes. An effective approach by authorities may well lessen the severity of the circumstance.