Today, many mothers take care of the family and do not go to work. Some people believe that the government should pay them their salaries. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, most of females after their maternity period leave their careers to nurture their children and families. It is often argued that they should be paid remuneration by the government. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement and this essay below shall explain the reasons for my disagreement. Firstly, the decision of mothers to take care of their families is not enforced by the authorities. In most of the cases, women have to take such decisions because of a lack of support from the family. People nowadays prefer personal space and hence the trend of the nuclear family is increasing. This has resulted in a lack of care and support for children which has led women to give up their careers. In contrast, policies related to child care or flexible working hours for female workers with children should be formulated to encourage mothers to work which would foster both the economy of the country as a whole and her family as well. In addition, paying allowances to mothers could be a huge financial burden to the nation. The authorities may have to increase the tax rate applicable to the individuals to cover these financial burdens. For example, the allowances paid to senior citizens are paid from the social security fund raised through the contribution of those citizens themselves. However, in the case of mothers it will be a burden to the government as they have not contributed anything to the revenue of the country. Moreover, providing salaries to non-working mothers will encourage them to leave their work and start looking after their kids. This would destruct the enthusiasm of those potential women leading to a low economy of the state. In conclusion, I believe that government should not pay housewives because the decision is solely made by the families and huge funds would be required if allowances are to be paid. Rather than this, policy to encourage their participation in income-earning activities should be implemented by taking their concern about families into consideration.