In the past, when student did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantage and disadvantage of this development?

Today foreign study is a global trend. More and more students are studying overseas, nowadays whereas, in the past university education was restricted to the home country. There are both merit and challenges of studying in different countries and in my essay, I will discuss both with suitable examples. Firstly,the opportunity to travel and educate oneself in an overseas land can be very beneficial in terms of getting into the best-known colleges. For example, many students from India travel to America and get admitted to reputed colleges. Secondly, an international degree, improves the chance of getting a good job. To exemplify, studies show, students passing out from Oxford and Cambridge, get better-salaried jobs than candidates passing from Kolkata University. Thirdly, they get a chance to learn a different language. To cite an instance, students from China get a chance to learn English in Canada. Thus the advantage can be in a better institute, higher salary and improved job prospects and learning a new language. On the other side, there are also some disadvantages, arising out of adjustment problems in a new land. It may be difficult to get accustomed to a new culture. For,example students from Bangladesh going to Sweden face cultural issues. Moreover, foreign learning can be very expensive and subsequently can damage the economic balance of the family back home. For example, people in Punjab sell land to send their children to study in Canada. Therefore, the disadvantages are culture shock and the expense of continuing the course. Thus, we see that in spite of clear merits and drawbacks, people decide to study abroad discarding university options at their own place. However, the trend is a positive development and has helped in the global spread of learning.