Some people think that the best way to motivate employees to work hard is to pay them high salaries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many company managers consider wage increases to be the most effective method of encouraging their employees to unleash their potential in the workplace. Even though offering high salaries may prove advantageous, I believe there are equally viable ways to boost employee productivity. There are obvious benefits to paying high wages. Firstly, this practice can appeal to employees with financial difficulties. With property prices and taxes rocketing, the cost of living has increased exponentially in many countries, leaving some people financially unable to cover their living expenses. If such individuals receive pay increments and a chance of rehabilitation, they would line up to work as hard as their employers want. Secondly, human nature and modern materialism also make money a driving motivation for the current workforce. The majority of people now tend to prioritize their monetary ambitions over their work -life balance and job fulfilment. The more money employees earn, the more effort they can exert in their workplace. Money, however, is not the only motivation. Career advancement has equal importance to the amount of salary. As soon as people are given an opportunity to develop their skills and professional competence, they keep working overtime to push their limits and secure constant progress in their careers. What can drive staff members to hard work apart from a high salary and career development is to perform in a friendly working environment. Having been provided with job recognition and cooperative colleagues, one can enjoy a sense of togetherness that fuels their work ethic and productivity. Therefore, company executives should take these factors into consideration before becoming obsessed with paying inflated salaries. In conclusion, though generous salaries may motivate impoverished and materialistic workers to reach their optimal productivity, it seems to me that managers should place as much significance on their employees’ career progression and work environment as they do on salary rises.