In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is popular advice that young people can completely achieve anything if they put in enough effort. This viewpoint is considered to have both advantages and disadvantages, which can be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, this advice is widely accepted thanks to some benefits that it brings to children. Firstly, the mentioned advice is evidently a great incentive for children to have strong beliefs during the process of implementing their ambitions in their life. Specifically, it is clear that there are always challenges and difficulties occurring in human life, which require children to face and find solutions to overcome. When people trust this advice, they can have more motivation and belief to tackle all problems they need to face. Furthermore, it is also true that the more times children was given this advice, they will definitely remember this message to apply in their life, which is supposed to be significantly beneficial for them. On the other hand, there are still some disadvantages that this advice can possibly have. First and foremost, if children trust this advice too much, they will easily get disappointed when outcomes are not as expected. This may result in some circumstances where children are too young to manage negative emotions, so they may get lost and unable to recover after failures, which is especially a widespread issue for the youth in modern life. Additionally, this advice can also make children unconsciously have confirmation bias, which means that they will do everything until it is successful without clearly understanding its meaning with them. This can lead children to have many time-consuming and unmeaningful jobs, which should have been early recognized and finished. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be said that the viewpoint that encourages children to believe they can do anything with enough effort has both positive and negative aspects.