Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Recently, it has been observed that the consumption of fast food has drastically increased all over the world. According to some people, advertisements are to be blamed for this cause. They claim that putting a ban on the promotion of junk food is the only way to reduce its consumption. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement and will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin, there are several reasons why fast food promotion must be banned. Firstly, children spends majority of their time watching television. Fast food companies like McDonald’s purposely advertises through kid’s shows and attracts them into buying unhealthy food. A recent research, for example, showed that 70% of the fast food are consumed by people after watching TV commercials. Consequently, the advertisements pose a great threat to people’s well-being. In addition, such advertisements usually never showcase their ingredients to public that may cause harmful effect to one’s self or the society. Moreover, large amount of sugar and oil added to fast food could result in high blood pressure, heart diseases and obesity. The sugar quantity, for example, is not included in a Coca Cola ad and people are unaware of how such promotions can negatively impact the health of their society. Resultantly, advertisements of junk foods may become a part of individual’s daily diet. In conclusion, I believe advertisement of unhealthy cuisine is not only harmful but should completely be banned. The problem of excessive consumption of junk food can be tacked if authorities could place different restrictions to limit children’s exposure and by informing the public about the details of what they are buying.