Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that technological development has a negative impact on interpersonal relationships. I am inclined to agree with this statement since online contact has replaced real one and, moreover, it resulted in losing the ability to use non-verbal communication,which is still crucially important. The invention of social media inevitably changed the way people communicate. face-to-face meetings have been changed to Zoom ones, letters - to emails or text messages, and adjectives-to emojis. However, all aforementioned tools cannot supersede the meaning and power of body language. People cannot realise,that subconsciously they feel a lack of direct conversations. Moreover, the detached conversation might lead to misunderstandings and feelings of loneliness. This might one of the reasons for the increasing percentage of patients with anxiety and depression. For instance,there was a survey conducted among Ukrainians aged 18 to 28, who suffered from the above-mentioned disorders. Approximately 60% of them mentioned,that more than half of their communication with peers is virtual. Additionally, the prevailing online correspondence has led to deskilling in non-verbal language.It has been forgotten by a vast majority of the population how to read body speech. Consequently, it might lead to misinterpretation of someone's actions, which has a negative influence on corporate relations. For example, the experiment carried out in some big Ukrainian companies has shown, that almost 60% of workers aged under 30(did not use non-verbal expressions efficiently,which might be a result of them not communicating in real life enough. To sum up all of the above,though technological development has brought new resources to keep in touch with other people, it has half its drawbacks,which include the evanescence of non-verbal speech and raised the ratio of mental health problems, due to lack of real-life connection. Therefore, I fervently agree with the given opinion.