Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle this problem

In this industrialised world, people migrate to cities that offer better opportunities for their living and career. However, extensive inhabitants in a confined area will develop an imbalance in the environmental elements leading to various detrimental effects on the earth which can be mitigated by several measures that are discussed in this essay. To commence, the overcrowding of individuals flowing to major destinations in need of jobs consequently makes the region congested. Moreover, the growing accommodation,transportation and commercial facilities that are essential to satisfy the need of a huge number of people owe a significant contribution to pollution. This can be air, water or soil pollution. For instance, research conducted in 2018 compared with the one in 2020 on air pollution in New York City exhibits that there is a drastic improvement in air quality due to the lockdown caused by the pandemic. In addition,when the population shoots up in a certain area that will contribute to the overexploitation of the local natural resources. To illustrate water scarcity is not rare in famous cities such as London, where people buy water from supermarkets, whereas, in rural areas, individuals have plenty of reach to all the basic resources. Therefore, overpopulation paves way for the disturbance in the natural distribution of elements causing calamities and disasters. On the other hand, the aforementioned problem can be resolved to a certain extent effectively, if government take initiative to distribute the chances and facility extending towards the village areas. Thus opening new windows of hope will restrain the unnecessary moving of people over regions. This can be achieved by the promotion of establishing multinational firms in the village areas. To conclude, emphasising the importance of even distribution of the inhabitation by society and awareness of the amount of disruption that is caused by the overpopulation in urban areas has to do.