Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Mobile phones, nowadays, contained essential features with entertainment also. There has been a large growth seen in using hours of smartphones among youngsters. There are several reasons behind this situation and I find this development more beneficial than negative. Both the reasons and my view is elaborated further. The first reason for over usage of smart devices by youngsters is the social benefit they provide. The phones connected with the internet open up the large possibilities, from creating new friends to communications with them over social media. For instance, a child in my neighbourhood chats for hours with his school friends over Facebook (a social media) and also spends time over online video sharing phone application. Moreover the mobile gaming, multiplayer games, is another major reason for the situation. Children plays different kind of games over mobile for entertainment and they involve themselves in games in such a manner, that they forget about the timing and other work to do. However, I believe that smartphones have also increased the knowledge of pupils. It has developed some important social skills, such as communication, Teamwork and many more, by allowing them to work and play in groups, without the restriction of distance. In addition, children can learn through the internet by watching online videos and reading articles, which ultimately helps them in their studies as well as in language skills. For example, whenever my niece requires to know about something, he searches it over the internet and learns from it. Moreover, multiplayer online gaming improves their multitasking ability and also gives them a competitive environment Overall, I agree that over usage of smartphones on regular basis is harmful to them, but if given proper guidance, mobile phones can help them in learning some lifelong skills.