Some parents guide their children's education towards specific careers, such as in engineering, medicine, or law. u What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child who has this kind of parental guidance?

These days, many parents try to control what their children study in an effort to push them toward specific fields and professions. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this kind of parental intervention. On the one hand, the guidance of parents can be extremely beneficial to a child. Parents who have worked in a variety of jobs have much more experience, so they are generally better equipped to make informed decisions regarding career choices and can give better ideas to their children. Another potential benefit is that parents may have connections within their own field. For instance, a friend of mine, whose father is a renowned doctor, was happy to follow in her father's footsteps as she knew that her father's influence and referrals could open many doors for her in the medical profession. Such parental assistance leads to a more reliable future. On the other hand, we cannot overlook the importance of autonomy when it comes to older children. In other words, we should give teenagers the freedom to choose their own paths so that they feel a greater sense of pride in their efforts and achievements. Moreover, if people enter a profession in which they have no interest, they will lack a sense of ownership and responsibility. Instead, children should aim to enter a field that inspires them so that they can live happy and fulfilling life. From what I have seen, children are more likely to strive to achieve excellence in a profession they like. All in all, there are both pros and cons to consider with regard to parents choosing the career path of a child. While a child can benefit from the advice of his or her parents, that child may also regret the loss of autonomy and control over their future later in their life.