Universities should accept equal numbers of males and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, involving discrimination and equality has become the most concerning issue. It is often argued that universities should respect gender balance in every course. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this point of view because the process of selecting the best candidates should be based on qualification and not gender. Firstly, accepting the same number of both genders when selecting candidates is simply unrealistic because this process depends on a heterogeneous candidate pool. Furthermore,it is well-known that males and females have different interests and hobbies and some courses are more popular for a particular sex. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more women than men and conversely, mechanics courses are preferred by men. On the other hand, respecting an equal number of males and females deprived qualified students of having the opportunity to study the targeted program. Indeed, the criteria of selection should favorise the best candidates based on their qualifications without depending on their genders. However, if this system prioritises genders rather than considering the qualifications of the person, this could be seen as another kind of discrimination towards the best pupils. Moreover, if the university decides to apply gender equality, the merit system will be completely affected. In conclusion, some people suggest that enforcing gender balance is essential. However, I think that applying this system could be sometimes unfair because selecting the students should be based on records and merits. Furthermore, the criteria of selection need to be based on the interest of the student which differs according to the interests of sex.