Write about the following topic: Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There has been a dynamic transition in education for the last few years. While educationalists used to put more importance on memorizing facts in school in the past, they tend to shift their focus on different abilities due to the changing social demands today. I strongly believe that those who stress various skills and abilities gain higher expectations in the current educational system for the following reasons. On one hand, it used to be widely believed that memorizing facts was a more dependable way to achieve academic success. In fact, students are able to gain a deeper understanding of various fields such as politics and history if they have background information that they learned at school to some degree. In addition, the entrance examination usually tests knowledge in the form of multiple-choice questions. Therefore, higher scores will be achieved by those who concentrate on memorizing more facts correctly. As a result, this will reward students with more successful opportunities both in education and careers in future. On the other hand, such strong emphasis on knowledge has gradually become outdated and students who are better at expressing and sharing their own idea are regarded as more talented by modern society. Their grades are more fairly evaluated by three separate criteria, which include knowledge, positive learning attitudes and output performance. In other words, learners are required not only to possess sufficient academic understanding but also to present their individual opinions to achieve higher scores at school. This is why many schools and even companies conduct more performance and interview tests to examine these abilities today. In conclusion, it is the traditional thought that those who possess extensive knowledge gain more respect at school. However, it reduces its importance with the rising awareness of the significance of performing skills.