Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' . How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past few decades, due to easy access to finance and improvement in the standard of living of people, the number of individuals owning a personal vehicle has increased significantly. As a result, the majority of cities around the world are facing traffic jams. In this essay, I will elucidate why I completely agree with this assertion. Also, I will discuss steps that can be taken by the authorities to overcome this problem. It is an undeniable fact that metro cities in the majority of countries are overcrowded. Moreover, the masses residing in these cities have a higher disposable income. Because of this, owning a car which was considered a luxury, has now become a necessity. Additionally, in many places, the public transportation facilities are not up to the mark. Due to this, individuals prefer to use private cars for daily commutes, which leads to an increase in traffic. This is also one of the major reasons for an increase in air pollution. For instance, rather than using the state-run train and bus services, most of the people in Mumbai city use self-owned cars and bikes for day-to-day travel. The reason being poor infrastructure and lack of punctuality. In order to resolve this issue, the government can take various initiatives. To start with, they can provide an economical, clean, and timely transportation facility to the masses. This will not only help in motivating the public to avoid using private cars but also will be beneficial for the authorities as they will earn revenue from these services. To exemplify, recently, the government of India has started metro train services in major cities of the country. Since it is affordable and equipped with modern facilities, people are choosing it over a car. Apart from that, the government can increase taxes on vehicle purchases. This will discourage many from buying as the cost will increase. To conclude, it is completely true that increasing traffic is one of the biggest concerns. The government should take various measures like improving the state-run commuting services to tackle this issue.