Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy? Give reason for your answers and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Energy has been an important milestone throughout human history and it is obvious that human civilization depends on energy.Contemporary society has recognized solar power as a promising source of domestic energy.Its availability, and economically and environmentally friendly nature have obtained much attention while there are a few drawbacks such as high cost and advanced technology which are mandatory during establishment. Although burning fossil was popular during past decades as a source of energy,it was hazardous to the environment.When it comes to solar power, it doesn't emit any carbon dioxide or any other toxin which could possibly initiate air pollution.The world is more concerned about environmental pollution and its consequences than ever and it will directly lead people to choose solar power as an option. Furthermore,once the system is established,it is noticed the price of a unit of energy is much lower than fuel-driven electricity.Most importantly the sun is a never-ending energy source,compared to any other, hence the sustainability of the energy is undoubted,making people much inclined over it. With regard to the benefits of using the sun as a source of energy is enormous.As mentioned in the above paragraph, the growing trend of using this energy type is due to its advantages.It's cheap while being natural and easily available.There are a few drawbacks to using solar power. For instance, it needs advanced technology in assembling which require professional knowledge. For example, In. Srilanka there are dedicated companies that consist of professionals in mounting solar panels and individuals cannot get it done by themselves. Thus the capital expenditure is much more expensive as it requires specialized knowledge. These solar panels are not produced in every country,so sometimes they have been imported which again draws money from the consumer. In conclusion,solar power is a trending source of energy in households because of its availability,low outlay and environmentally friendly manner even though it needs high capital payment and hi-tech knowledge to establish.