Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

while some people think that international tourism has facilitated cross-cultural understanding, others believe that disputes can be created by this major industry. personally, I hold the belief that tourism has promoted peace rather than tensions between countries. on the one hand, those who advocate the development of tourism may point to a better interracial understanding. it is true that many people believe in false preconceptions of the tradition and culture of other countries. therefore, travelling helps people to take a closer look into the locals' mindset that can correct their existing prejudices. as a result, cross-border tourism is likely to strengthen the bond between countries, which is beneficial for the economy and politics. for example, in 2019, the government in Vietnam decided to give many of its citizens an opportunity to travel to other countries with a view to building up a good relationship with them. on the other hand, international tourism can create disputes among people from other nations. it is worth mentioning that tourists can unintentionally offend the local values without in-depth knowledge of the local customs and cultures. therefore, tensions among countries can be created that are likely to result in wars and conflicts. for instance, people in Iran need to be well-dressed when they go out, but tourists from other nations do not know about this custom. consequently, the relationship between these countries and Iran becomes more acrimonious. in conclusion, I strongly believe that cross-border tourism is hugely advantageous for promoting peace. however, its negative effects on the association among nations need to be taken into consideration.