Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Nowadays, couples in rich countries choose to have one or no child. In this essay, I will elucidate why I strongly support this View. The rapid increase in the cost of living is one of the primary reasons for this behaviour. Today, the rearing cost of a baby is much more than an average expenditure of an adult. The cost of providing good education, nourishment and healthcare to a child is skyrocketing. Because of this, many families are facing financial burdens. Hence, they prefer to raise a single child. For instance, In metro cities like Mumbai, due to an increase in inflation, living expenditure has increased significantly. In comparison to that, the income growth of an individual is quite low. So, couples are quite reluctant to have more than one offspring. Also, one of the biggest concerns that many countries are facing today is overpopulation. As a result, basic necessities like food, clothing and shelter are not available to many. Moreover, excessive growth in population has an adverse impact on the environment as well. Forests are being cut down so that shelter and factories can be developed for humans. In order to meet the increasing need of people, new industries are being set up. Thus contributing to air and water pollution. To exemplify, it is an undeniable fact that, over the past few decades, the emission of greenhouse gases and deforestation has adversely impacted our environment. This has resulted in an increase in air pollution. To conclude, as the world is facing food and energy shortage crises, controlling the growing population is a must.