Some people think that the government should make laws regarding nutrition and healthy lifestyle, while others think that it is a matter of personal choice and personal responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Leading a healthy lifestyle and consuming nutritious food is dwindling day by day. Therefore, some say that government should enforce rules to promote health and fitness but, others would opine that it is completely up to an individual to decide. I side with the latter view and will explain it further in the below paragraphs. In this day and age, obesity among youngsters is a common sight. With the amalgamation of cultures and the introduction of fast foods, the popularity of living a sedentary life and consuming fatty foods has become inevitable. Consequently, it is expected from the government to step in and make necessary changes. For instance, increasing taxes on snacks and soft drinks may reduce their consumption among youngsters. In addition, the government also have the authority to refrain from food branding of unhealthy items. Such interference might make difference in the long run. On the other side, no matter whatsoever law is passed eating is a personal choice. Despite being aware of the harmful effects of packaged products and sugary delicacies, people tend to have a liking for them and will not hesitate to eat them. Moreover, in most cases coercing everyone to eat healthy food may not bear a fascinating outcome. As all the healthy items are considered bland and tasteless. Secondly, some also suggest that it is better to work out than to compromise on their food choices. They would be happy to consume a full-fat meal to satiate their hunger and will exercise later to maintain their health. Thus, refraining anyone from eating something they like can be harsh and feckless. In conclusion, although it is ideal for government to levy taxes and enforce laws to direct people towards healthy living, it is true to say that regardless of these enforcements people will do as they like and it is completely their choice and responsibility.