Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school ans starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life offers benefits to individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that non-academic experience through taking a gap year between graduating from school and starting college, provides benefits to students when they come back to school. Is there any merit to this belief? There are two reasons to support this idea: firstly, work experience enables students to have practical skills in academic environments and secondly, they are likely to gain diverse ideas through travelling. First of all, students can spread their thoughts through traveling. By way of an example, interacting with local people while traveling encourages students to have wider and deeper ideas. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper that was published last month, many university students who have traveled in a gap year said that communicating with local people is a good opportunity to have wider thoughts and this experience is effective in discussion in school. Therefore, taking a year off to travel provides students to gain diverse ideas. Secondly, young people tend to improve their practical skills, which are essential to get high grades in university through job experience. These include problem-solving and time-management skills. In fact, research recently conducted by the Ministry of Education in Japan discovered that students who have joined an internship and got above skills are three times as likely to graduate with distinction as those who have not. As a result, the Ministry has started to encourage students in Japan to actively take a gap year to have job experience. In conclusion, there are considerable advantages to taking a gap year such as having a diversity of thoughts and improving practical skills in academic environments. We must consider a drastic change, in which young students can take a year off and gain such skills and thoughts.