With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The advancement of technology in the 21st century has changed the way humanity tackles even the simplest of tasks like reading. Paper-based mediums like books and newspapers have been replaced by electronic mediums such as ebooks. On one hand, the main advantage of the usage of the electronic medium are their environmentally friendly approach to nature. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of replacing paper-based mediums is incorrect information due to lax filtering. Both opinions are discussed in this essay and a conclusion is formed on it. Firstly, the rise of ebooks has made it easier for authors to publish articles to a wider audience. This has created a market for people to learn about diverse subjects in a cheaper fashion. The cost of peer-reviewed scientific journals such as 'science direct' is far cheaper in an electronic version than its hardcopy. Secondly, the usage of lesser books equates to less use of paper; this will lead to a direct reduction in deforestation. It has been reported by BBC News that human consumption of paper leads to 1% of the total deforestation of amazon forests each year. The flip side of the coin of using an electronic medium is an issue of vision correction glasses needed among young children as young as 5 years old. Research from the University of Melbourne among the ages 0-10, shows an increase in the use of glasses in the last decade. Furthermore, the huge boom in the world wide web has created space for the spreading misinformation,especially among the younger audience. For example, paid peer-reviewed journals to have a wider scope of acceptance in science journals than unpaid ones irrespective of their value in academia. To conclude, on one,hand the advantages to the environment and cost while consuming ebook is high; it is important to keep note of the disadvantages of using ebooks on our health plus the problem of filtering misinformation. In my,opinion the benefits are far less than the disadvantage and paper-based mediums is not a good step forward.