Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Globalization is paving its way to our society which brings manifold benefits to us. As a result of which, global news has evolved as an essential subject for secondary schools. On one hand, there are individuals who agree with this, on the contrary, there are a second set of people who consider it a mere wastage of precious time for students. I am of the same mind as the former set of people and explicate some logical reasons to support my view. To commence with, by studying this as a mandatory subject, pupils will get to know about the events that are happening around the globe along with precise knowledge of international history and culture. Additionally, students will get to know about varied career opportunities and can compare the benefits of working and studying abroad with the ones available within their own nation. To cite an example, I would like to mention my cousin who did not have international news as a subject but was a keen lover of globalization, he used to keep an eye on such broadcasts which helped him to choose Canada as the land of preference for his further studies. On the other hand, a few parents consider that getting indulged in international data will affect their study of regular subjects and it will be an additional burden on students. Considering their regular subjects as more essential for growth, they often stay away from them and focus on what is happening within their own country. For example, a student who wants to continue a business after completing his/her studies focuses more on laws and business opportunities in their own country, ignoring the fact that the study of global accounts and trade could open his/her way to work globally as well. In a nutshell, I would say that due to increasing globalization, the class of international news and laws is as crucial as other subjects. They not just open the way for career options within own country but can be great for international study, jobs and business opportunities as well.