You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words. Food is still highly valued in many developing countries. However, in most countries a significant amount of foods are wasted. This essay will discuss the causes and solutions to this problem. Two main reasons behind food waste are the increase in income and the modern throw-away culture. In our society, we have an average income of $3000 every month compared to $100 per month 50 years ago, this encourages people to dump the foods they do not like. In other words, throwing food away does not concern them financially. On to the second reason, the modern throw-away culture promotes the thought of everything can be discarded despite its value. For example, a Tiktok influencer kept telling his viewers that most of the leftovers are thrown in the bin simply because he did not find them delicious anymore. Therefore, unless actions were taken, this issue will only worsen. There are two solutions to this problem which are increasing the cost of food disposal and organising awareness-raising campaigns. Food disposal is free in most countries but in South Korea, they charge a fixed cost for every 100 grams of food waste since they have the highest amount of food being disposed in the world. Therefore, imposing a fixed cost on food disposal, causes their citizen to not waste food as there will be additional charges. On the other hand, the government should start public awareness-raising campaigns in order to alter the public mindset on wasting food. Simply put, starting a campaign on educating the public on why food should not be wasted will change the public's mindset on the modern throw-away culture. In conclusion, tackling this issue requires alteration of public consciousness although governments play an important role, individuals have the final decision of where food at their table goes to.