Shopping has become a favorite pastime among young people. Do you think they must be encouraged to do other things rather than shopping

Due to peer pressure and the influence of social media, youngsters nowadays spend excessive time shopping. In this essay, I will elucidate that this is a negative phenomenon and that children should indulge in other self-development activities in their free time. Undoubtedly, it is a fact that youngsters today face a lot of peer pressure. They give more importance to material things like branded clothes, the latest smartphones, etc. Even if it is not necessary, in order to get social acceptance, they often end up buying unwanted items. Many feel that keeping up with the latest fashion trends helps them to improve their personality. For instance, when a new mobile phone is launched in the market, people of the younger generation immediately buy it. Even though they have a perfectly fine phone, they are motivated to purchase a new one just to show off. Today, the world has become very competitive. In my view, rather than wasting money on unwanted stuff, pupils should use the same to improve their skills and develop themselves. These skills will help them to become successful in life and achieve their goals. Moreover, they can invest leisure time in playing sports or doing physical exercise. This will not only improve their health but will also save them a lot of money. Apart from that, one can undertake a part- time job. Along with gaining valuable practical experience, one can earn and save for the future. To exemplify, in many developed,countries parents encourage teenagers to work part- time during holidays. Since these children start working at an early age, they understand the value of money and learn essential skills like money and time management. To conclude, a child should be guided and taught how to make effective use of free time for his or her development.