Nowadays an increasing number of people are changing their careers during their working life period. what are the reasons behind this trend? it generally positive or negative trend?

In the contemporary era, switching careers or jobs is no more frowned upon as compared to conventional times. In my view, this is a positive change and we must respect an employee’s choice if he wants to change his path. This essay will elucidate my assertions and provide reasons for this trend. Nowadays, changing jobs is a common trend among youngsters. This is because they are very keen to move up the ladder quickly and constantly look out for better opportunities. Millennials don’t believe in spending many years in one job as they feel that their growth will become stagnant after a couple of years. To cite an example, their curiosity to learn and experiment with new things contributes to their decision to change as the work that they presently do, will eventually become monotonous. Additionally, some youngsters switch careers because they are not satisfied with their profile and pay or their interest lies in something else. For instance, a millennial whose hobby is singing, could simply take up a job for survival. However, once he feels that he is settled, he might simply leave his work in order to pursue his passion. Certainly, I support this trend completely because of a couple of reasons. Firstly, one gets exposure to varied organisational cultures while moving to workplaces. For instance, there is a huge cultural difference between an Indian company and a Multinational one. Getting the flavour of both helps tremendously in self as well as professional development. Further, in a corporate environment, networking is considered a skill. So one can create a lot of networks by switching between corporates. This proves to be essential during promotions or a better pay scale. Thus, for one ’s growth and betterment, hopping from one company to another is a positive trend. To conclude, one should not restrain self from exploring career opportunities to understand what best suits them.