Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others belive that some imformation is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Nowadays, information plays a major role in any aspect. It has become the key to everything, as the world is depending on information. Despite that, sharing info or data has become a controversial topic in modern society. Some folks believe that sharing more information in the business, academic or science world is good while others disagree. However, in my opinion, too important and too valuable information should be shared only for the sake of good but not always. One of the major reasons that I say not to share sensitive info is competition. For example, consider two burger companies that are the biggest rivals in the industry. If one company shares its recipes freely with the world, it will lose its business and competition with others. The second reason is increased vulnerability. A good example would be that scientific research about security systems, which shared all the hidden information with the public. From the moment the public knows how it operates, that research would be worthless. However, there are certain exceptions the world needs to know all the knowledge. For instance, how did Coronavirus generated; whether it was a manmade virus or a natural action? Furthermore, releasing knowledge about new species would open up new opportunities for other potential areas. ie; the discovery of dinosaurs opened a number of archaeological paths, academic subject areas etc. To conclude, information and data have become the most valuable mean in day-to-day life in the recent present. However, it should be handled with care and I believe that sharing materials should only use for the development of the society and the above-mentioned points could assist my opinion.