Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to comsume less sugar.

In the contemporary world concerns regarding health are rising due to the unhealthy habits of people, specifically with regard to their food habits and sedentary lifestyle.When considering their eating pattern,they consume a lot of sugary products and it is known for centuries that it leads to many non-communicable diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure,ultimately causing high morbidity and mortality rates throughout the world. As a result, many authorities have thoughts to increase the prices of sweets, even though I believe hiking prices will not address the issue alone as it needs better awareness among the general population. Most importantly,the world Carries the burden of an unhealthy population in many ways.When a country is lack of strong workforce,it will directly affect its economy, hence the future of everyone. Food and beverage with high levels of sugar create derangement in the normal physiology of a person risking their health and life. For instance, it has been identified by medical professionals, the number of people with diabetes is strikingly high in the South Asian region compared to the last century likewise, they have found consumption of sugar through food and beverages has shown exponential growth over the same period. Besides, people tend to eat this amount of sugar even without their conscious knowledge as they are hidden in those products directly not claimed as sugar. on one hand,it is agreeable that by increasing the price there will be a drop in buying those items but craving for sugar will drive people to purchase these items no matter the price. On the other hand, their awareness regarding the sugar content of those products, the aftermath of consuming them and the benefits of avoiding these items have not been emphasized in society.So I suggest education regarding the aforementioned facts ought to go hand in hand with the price hike. For example, conducting a programme to display the hidden sugar content of food and beverages has reduced their consumption remarkably in Srilanka. In conclusion, it has been a devastating situation where people acquire non-communicable diseases due to their own habits of eating and drinking items with higher amounts of sugar. However,it is thought,making these items expensive can solve the issue,I believe in addition to this measure public should be empowered with knowledge regarding the health problems that they are going to have and the advantages of limiting consumption.