Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about their country, while other people think it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen on tv and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Travelling has become an integral part of our culture. There is a group of people who think that it is important to move abroad to educate oneself, while other groups think to the contrary, believing, it is not necessary, as all the information can be accessed on television and the Internet. While I support the former group who are in favour of travelling and in my essay, I shall discuss both views with relevant examples. First and foremost, there are certain elements of a foreign culture, which can only be experienced in person, and not through any distant medium. One such thing is food. For, example, street food in Bangkok cannot be experienced, unless and until someone eats it in reality. Moreover, learning about society is largely dependent on personal and actual experience and cannot be replicated on traditional or social media. For instance, it is only when travelling to Kolkata, a foreigner can feel the real charm of the Durga Puja festival. Furthermore, travelling to distant lands and meeting people broaden one's horizon and help to understand oneself better. To illustrate, several citizens of Israel, travel to India to study Hinduism, to get a better perspective of their own religion and also, by studying the similarity and differences. Thus food, culture and a broadening horizon are the major takeaways from travelling abroad. On the contrary, the school that believes that it is not necessary to travel, as the material is mostly available on the "Net" relies on the static nature of the information. It is a fact, that making an international journey is pretty expensive and the cost may not be commensurate with the benefit. For, example, the cost of travelling to a different country can be a few thousand dollars at the minimum. News about foreign land and happening there is readily available on live tv and it eventually, saves time. Therefore, the school believes in saving money and time through the internet. To summarise, whereas, there are certain merits in a journey abroad while some deem it to be unnecessary as subsequently, knowledge can be received through media. However, there is no denying the fact that travel broadens one's horizon and is concurrently, and integral to learning. No amount of internet can replace a personalised experience.