Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that in the modern-day technologies and globalization have profoundly affected the way we make choices, both small and life-long. Majority of people state that today we have bigger variety of options, whether it is food, accommodation, clothing or job. However, in my opinion, wide range of options cannot guarantee the same amount of choices. In the next paragraphs I shall elaborate my viewpoint. To begin with, the technological advancement brought numerous amounts of vocations on job market. Together with the internet access to various sources and data about any type of occupation in any part of the world, young people can consider all options before making one of the most important decisions in their life. Nevertheless, the rise of inflation and migration crisis force people to pursue not the dream profession, but the one that can provide food, shelter and some status in society for them and their families. Furthermore, younger generation has to dwell in a big city in order to start and build a career. Such a big demand on accommodation makes a rent price go higher, while the quality of life is still low. To illustrate, in cities like New York tenants live in small apartments with shared bathrooms and kitchen while paying spending half of their income. Another point, the illusion of choice is often created as the way to make people waste money and increase income of big corporations. For instance, it is clear that fashion trends change every season. What is also well-known, is that every trend is dictated by fashion business. After each fashion week, the add with a new dress pop out in our instagram feed becoming peak in fashion. Buying new clothing people believe that they are fashionable, whereas in reality is just money down the drain. In conclusion, I agree that nowadays people can afford much more than people of the past. At the same time, the modern style of life diminishes any choice and dictates a person how to fit into society.