Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Our planet and the natural resources like air, water, soil and fossil fuels available on it are valuable gifts to us which need to be preserved as these are non-renewable. The heightened demand for water has become a global issue in this age and day as it has always been a finite resource. This issue aims to explore the root causes which trigger this situation and will try to find out feasible measures to alleviate this. The first and foremost problem arises with the accelerated growth of the world population which results in the excessive demand for water. Moreover, the introduction of the latest technology, such as dishwashers, showers and flushing toilets which uses a lot of water and inaccurate use of water also contributes to its wastage. For example, leaving the taps on while brushing or leaking taps results in a waste of water. There should be the best possible steps taken at the end by both governments as well as society to mitigate this problem. Firstly, the government should draft and implement policies and regulations to clean the water of the river to make them enable for consumption by people. They should also come up with the idea of rainwater harvesting and make separate arrangements for the supply of drinking water and water for consumption in other work. For example, fresh water should be supplied for drinking water, whereas water for agricultural use should be supplied separately. Consumers are equally responsible for bringing the regulations into force because it can be done only with the collaborative efforts of both officials and individuals. To sum up, the lack of enough water supply to face a never-ending demand is now a worldwide concern. Actions must be taken to save every single drop of water on a personal basis but most importantly as a community. If governments do not address this problem immediately, consequences could be devastating for the whole of humanity.