Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities, while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion.

Some keep conflicting opinions that whether bikes are the best means of transport in the urban areas. In my opinion, its drawbacks are more remarkable than the positive effect in and reasons in addition to examples will be given in this essay. On the one hand, riding a bike in the cities has different demerits. Firstly, travelling in a metropolis between places, which requires to move for a great distance, will take more time and effort than any other types of transport. For example, Ho Chi Minh City, which is the largest metropolis of Vietnam, is so large in addition to traffic congestion and lack of safe parking plots. As a consequence, bicycles are not the best types of transport there. Another reason, which is addressed from the aforementioned disadvantage, is the lack of safety in the city. In fact, after cycling for a long distance and after that if the biker wants to take a short break, they will also have to keep their bike safe. In comparison to motorcycles, which are the most popular means of transport in Vietnam, they are less safe because it is not provided with a lock. On the other hand, despite being disadvantageous, I believe that its merits are more remarkably considerable. Firstly, riding bicycles, when it compares to other means of transport such as cars or motorbikes, result in a more eco-friendly atmostphere in the metropolitan areas. The European cities are typical instances of contribution of bicycles engages to the reduction of greenhouse emission, which increases the cleanliness of the air, improving the denizens' condition. Secondly, not only is cycling helping the ecosystem, but also improving the residents' physical health. In fact, riding a bike is a vigorous activity comparing to jogging, swimming or hiking because the bikers can ride for a longer distance than jogging and hiking and less boring than swimming when it is discussion of scenery. Moreover, as aforementioned, it does improve the bikers’ fitness, especially cardiovascular and skeletonal health. In conclusion, it is apparent that the bicycles are the greatest transport in the cities for these major reasons: environmental friendly and increase fitness whilst having inconsiderable downside, such as bad for long distance travel and require higher protection from criminal than other vehicles.