It is believed by some that people should take yearly driving test to ensure safety on the roads, while others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With an ever-increasing concern about insuring the safety of the road, a proportion of the population has opined that the yearly driving tests will play an important role in this issue. The rest proportion of the population, however, has raised a counterargument that the regular tests for drivers will not work. This essay will evaluate both arguments and give a concluding viewpoint. On the one hand, advocates of the annual driving test argue that it will provide drivers with the opportunity to think about the importance of safe driving. Considering that most people are likely to do their best not to fail in any kind of examination, an annual test for drivers will be effective for maintaining safety on roads as drivers will study and try to memorize the driving rules repeatedly. Secondly, while preparing for the test, drivers could maximize their awareness regarding safety on the roads and this will lead to having safe driving habits which are essential for drivers. On the other hand, opponents of this idea contend that taking a driving examination every year will not be actually effective for the general public in encouraging them to drive safely. The primary reason is that most people would only concentrate on passing the test. In other words, once they passed this year’s exam successfully, they are likely to ignore the importance of safe driving until the next exam and drive dangerously. In addition, drivers are not the only factor in ensuring safety on the road. This means that pedestrians’ behaviour on the street and maintaining road safety facilities properly are also crucial factors for keeping roads safe. In conclusion, it seems that annual driving tests can be efficient for safety on the roads. Nevertheless, I believe that other measures should be implemented for long-term effectiveness.