Smoking is banned in public place. Do you agree or disagree

There is no doubt that smoking has been a topic of debate for many years already. And in a country where freedom of choice is a basic right, you can’t expect all smokers to quit the habit no matter how many people are against it. However, parties against smoking argue that smokers should not be affecting other people with the harmful effects of cigarettes through secondhand smoke and believe smoking must be banned in public places. I will argue the prods and cons of this in the following essay. To begin with, The smoke of cigarettes includes enormous chemical substances that may harm a multitude of organs in the human body. Second-hand smoke which is inhaled in public areas would enter the lungs and transfer to many organs in the body. A clear example is Nitrous derivatives such as nitrous peroxide which are transferred to body vasculature and the cardiovascular system that causes lung cancer and myocardial infarction. Therefore, smoking in unrestricted places will predispose others to specific ailments which is the most imperative reason to ban smoking in public. In addition, Smoking, whether in public or private, is looked down upon by a lot of people. A lot of individuals believe that if smokers are allowed to light up in public, they can negatively affect younger people to also take up the habit. On the other hand, It allows businesses to not lose paying customers. Restaurants, cafes, bars, and other commercial establishments know that a big chunk of their client base includes people who smoke. Smoking is already banned in most indoor facilities so businesses are in danger of losing a large portion of their customers. But by allowing people to smoke in public places outside the establishment, smokers can still visit the place because they won’t feel ‘restricted’ by not being able to smoke. This means businesses won’t have to lose their paying smoking clients. Next, It provides venues for socializing. It is normal for a smoker to experience being approached by a stranger who asks for a cigarette or a light. These encounters have allowed some people to meet new friends. Of course, smokers can meet new people even when they’re not smoking, but meeting a fellow smoker in a common ‘comfort zone’ could make it easier for them since they already know they have something in common. And it is less likely they will be judged by that person for their ‘nasty’ habit. For office workers who smoke, taking a smoke break at a nearby public place allows them to leave their desks and stretch their legs for a bit and socialize with their colleagues as well. In conclusion, it is clear that it should be made illegal to smoke in public places. This would improve the health of thousands of people, and that is most definitely a positive development.