People of twenty-first century have better quality of life compared to those who lived in the previous centuries. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Although such topics, in all likelihood, never yield a consensual agreement, a constructive dialogue on whether people of the 21st century reap the benefits of better quality, in contrast to their ancestors whose lives can be traced back in time can lead to thought-provoking discussions. My view is that irrespective of the numerous arguments that exist on either side, I partially agree with this development as it contains its own inherent merits and demerits that cannot be ignored at any cost. There are several reasons to support this idea. The most predominant one is that it has made people's lives better, in terms of high living standards due to the high disposable income retained. For example, the appreciation of exchange rates and low inflation levels will enable people to spend on overrated branded or luxury items rather spend on common basic necessities. Besides, it leads to a wide array of benefits in almost every sphere of life. Human evolution together in a tech-savvy era generates a potential tendency in humans to solve analytical problems and other crucial critical skills related to computer software functioning such as artificial intelligence. Therefore, the aforementioned discussion constructively justifies my stance. Conversely, an increasingly significant pitfall of this proposition is that it has made people's lives worse than ever. This is mainly due to the fact that people are only obsessed with having a better quality of life but instead have less concern about developing healthy habits. People who lived in previous centuries were consuming nutritional diet on a daily basis, mostly vegan and fruits with no additives or chemicals, whereas the current generation is more likely to suffer from many prolonged health issues such as obesity, heart attack and diabetics due to maintaining unhealthy intakes such as junk food and instant noodle packs. In addition to this, currently, there is a lack of enthusiasm exist in physical sports among youngsters as many tend to play video games online instead of engaging in sports activities such as swimming, horse riding and gymnastics which offer manifold benefits to our health and immunity system. The effect is disastrous on health and well-being and the lack of attention paid by individuals to these effects, is another tragedy recurring in our current society. From what has been discussed above, it can unarguably be concluded people who lived then had high life expectancy rates than many who are living now.