Some people believe that the only purpose of a zoo is entertainment. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s argued that the sole purpose of a zoo is entertainment. I entirely disagree with the given statement. First of all, aside from the entertaining part of the zoo, they have a huge informative part as well. In other words, when people and especially kids visit a zoo, they are becoming familiar with multiple animals and their lives. There are several employees in the zoo to explain the way of life and the importance of the captive animals there for others. Also, a lesser-known use of zoos is in helping particular people to deal with their phobia of some animals. According to a study, a large percentage of therapists have been using zoos for ages for the final stages of their long-term plan for their patients to be able to cope with their unreasonable fear of some creatures. Secondly, zoos tend to have a big role in environmental assets. A lot of zoos are not only a place for creatures to be seen by humans, but they are also a location to breed and try to save endangered species. For instance, many scientists and environmentalists have been making huge efforts for years to realize how they can help these precious animals reproduce and raise their quality of life in the wilderness. Thus, Keeping endangered species away from extinction seems to be the main role of many zoos all around the globe. In conclusion, whilst many believe that the one and only function of a zoo is to be entertaining, I completely disagree with that opinion since zoos are also informative and have a great part in helping to solve some environmental issues.