In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the modern era, people usually prefer to go to large markets and avoid to go for shopping in nearby areas. This trend may create inconvenience for locals who have limited budget and money, however, has also resolved some traffic-related issues within a city. Pros and cons will be discussed in this essay. On one hand, this change has made it hard for citizens to go and buy commodities by covering just a walking distance from their homes. They have to travel far, hence, this costs them more time and money to buy just a few little things. For example, since the last decade, the trend of weekly bazaars has diminished, because, now, women prefer to go to a centralized AC building rather. Therefore, poor women who don't have any mode of travel, have become helpless now. On the other hand, this has sorted out some problems regarding obstacles on roads, because a centralized network of trade has a better car park system. Also, as purchasing different items is taken place in the same place, hence, it reduces chaos in residential areas. In the DHA area of Karachi, in order to control congestion on streets, there is only 1 fruit stall for each area so that the residents don't roam around here and there to buy fruits. To conclude, this shift has caused hurdles for poor nationals with limited resources in hand but also has facilitated everyone by controlling the situation of busy streets.