Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion in society that each type of crime should have fixed punishments. However, some people believe that plenty of individual factors should be taken into consideration before the final decision on the penalty. As for me, I absolutely agree that every crime just like every person is unique and the consequences should differ. On the one hand, every case can’t be judged like the previous one and I support this idea. So why do I feel this way? While crimes may be classified by categories, they all have different nature and circumstances. It really matters if the person commits it on purpose or not, how he/she feels about it and what his/her life situation is. For example, when a murder takes place, if criminals not only do it accidentally but also regret it deeply, the outcome should totally differ from those, who killed somebody on purpose and don’t feel they did something wrong. On the other hand, there are people who suggest implementing fixed punishments for specific crimes. They state that in our subjective judgemental process, where people decide on other people’s freedom and destiny, this is the only way to keep it more or less objective. For instance, if an individual committed a crime in the heat of passion and it was enough for the jury to soften the consequences, the next criminal will use this strategy and try to prove that he had the same state of mind. In conclusion, while opinions on the topic of punishments may vary, I strongly believe that every case should be considered individually and all the smallest details should be taken into account when deciding on any person’s future.