Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and insterets whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People make important decisions when it comes to choosing jobs. In other words, they try hard to find a suitable place to work, which meets their various demands. It is often controversial that applicants are required to provide personal information such as hobbies and marital status by employers. I generally disagree with this for the following reasons. On one hand, private information handed by applicants is often used in a beneficial way for both employers and employees. In fact, managers can give careful thought to organizing the schedules of individuals. For example, companies can avoid unexpected shortages of workers who are forced to cancel their work due to the sudden sickness of their children by preparing for additional staff. This is made possible if managers understand whether the employees have children or not in advance. In addition, this allows workers who have a small child to work with more comfort and security. Therefore, personal information should be shared within the organization for mutual benefit. On the other hand, such unrelated information about individuals may sometimes be utilized in a disadvantageous way. In fact, it is inconvenient for a boss to employ those who are married and already have children because they are more likely to be absent and delayed work. As a result, many women remain unemployed raising small kids for such inconceivable reasons. Instead, persons should be evaluated not by such private backgrounds but more fairly judged by each skill and ability. Thus, employers should not demand employees to expose personal data, which can only escalate their chances of discrimination and prejudice. In conclusion, private information provided by applicants may be used in a beneficial way. However, it can be treated in a negative way to reduce their chances of employment some people.