If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation system plays a significant role in the development of countries, and required proper management and maintenance. If a country wants to address traffic issues, there can be numerous possible ways. Higher taxes on private cars and cheap public transport could be the primary measures to solve the problems. This essay agrees with the statement which will be further discussed with the relevant examples. To commence with, the transportation department should levy higher taxes on the buying of personal cars, which consequently reduced its sales. This method can minimize the number of private vehicles on roads resulting in no traffic congestion. The commuters will reach their destinations faster. According to recent studies in Australia, the government increases rates of private cars and fuel due to which private car owners shifted toward public transport. With the reduction of cars on roads improves the environment. Secondly, how we can encourage people to use public trams and buses? This can be easily done by decreasing the prices of fares, comfortable rides and convenient travel time. Furthermore, higher officials could use the money received from the car owners for the improvement of the people's rail services. In China, for instance, they promote their public travelling service by providing free rides during peak hours. Similarly, different organizations provide extra facilities to those employees who commute on their bicycles than on their own cars. To sum up, travelling issues can be sorted by charging the car owners excessively and encouraging people to use public vehicles by decreasing the token prices.